Our Diocese

SS Peter & Paul’s Mitcham Parish is part of the Arch­diocese of Southwark. This is split up into three main areas (South West Area, South East Area and Kent area) – each with its own bishop. We are in the South West Area. The map below shows the South West and South East Areas.

The Archbishop of Southwark is The Most Reverend Peter Smith

The Area Bishops are:

Kent area:            Bishop Paul Mason
South East area:  Bishop Patrick Lynch
South West area: Bishop Paul Hendricks (our Area Bishop)

Within each Area there are smaller groups called Deaneries – ours being the Deanery of Merton. Other deaneries in the South West area are Balham, Cathedral, Croydon, Kingston, Mortlake and Sutton.

More information on the Diocese of Southwark is on the diocesan website